Richard Hurding und das neue "e"

The ‘e’

Every day via technology, humankind seems to be reducing the physical dimensions of the world of objects and even our need to interact with them to the absolute minimum. This has provoked me as a designer to ask myself is the endgame actually to minimize everything down to energy and nothing more? Is the Modernist expression ‘Less is more’ to be worshiped – or criticized?

With this in mind, the ‘e’ trophy has become a reduced raw expression of digital visual communication and has been produced using state of the art 3D printing technology. Video-‘Film’ as digitally projected signals is simply stated, the ‘signals’ describe an ‘e’ which finally manifests itself as colours on a ‘flat’ surface. Perhaps in the future this design will simply be transparent…?

The exception to the design for the main 6 categories is the design for the new category: ‘The PRICKLE’. This object has by nature of the theme ‘Sustainability’ to have a more serious persona. Produced from both PLA and recycled plastic, it is designed to convey the seriousness of ‘Sustainability’ which is an issue that grows bigger and more critical every day.
Driven by the Filmfest Eberswalde ‘PROVINZIALE’ concept, a number of positives have emerged during the design phase: The ‘e’ is manufactured from the ‘stuff’ of the Provinces, that is ‘PLA’ (Poly Lactic Acid) derived from plant based starch which is bio-generated and biodegradable. Furthermore, the 3D printable data generation and the production of the trophies was handled by YOUin3D, a young company based in Berlin Mitte, thereby supporting smaller ‘seed’ idea generators, the likes of whom could emerge anywhere at any time – essential for the perpetuation of provincial life.

Richard Hurding, Designer,
Joachimsthal/UNESCO Biosphere Schorfheide-Chorin
Zelfo Technology / BIORAMA-Projekt

INTERNATIONAL COMPETITION

The international competition will be held in the categories of Documentary Film and Short Feature Film. There are no restrictions as to the filmmakers and their origins.
From the films sent in, the programme advisory boards select those that will take part in the competition. The ‘e’ prize will be awarded by a jury at the end of the festival for overall artistic performance in each category.

In the Documentary Film category, the jury decides on the winner of the PROVINZIALE, which will be the best film on the subject of province.

The award is meant as an encouragement to the prize winners for their achievement.

  • Award for the best documentary film in the PROVINZIALE competition: 4,000 EUR, donated by the Ministry of Economic Affairs and Energy of the State of Brandenburg
  • Award for the best short feature film: 2,000 EUR

AUDIENCE AWARDS

Festival visitors can decide on four audience awards, one in each of the Documentary Film, Short Documentary, Short Feature Film and Animated Film categories. Ballots will be issued before each screening. The counting of votes is closed to the public.

  • Audience award for the best documentary film: 1,000 EUR
    donated by the mayor of Eberswalde
  • Audience award for the best short documentary film 1,000 EUR
    donated by the Ministry of Economic Affairs, Labour and Energy of the State of Brandenburg
  • Audience award for the best short feature film 1,000 EUR donated by Sparkasse Barnim
  • Audience award for the best animated film 1,000 EUR

JURY INTERNATIONAL COMPETITION - DOCUMENTARY FILM MIN. 45 MINUTES

Birger Schmidt

Birger Schmidt

Birger Schmidt, who grew up in Puttgarden, a village on the Baltic Sea island of Fehmarn, was a founding member and has been the long-time chairman of the Brot & Spiele association. He initiated the first international football film festival, named 11mm, which takes place annually in Berlin and for which he is now one of its three artistic directors. He is an educational researcher and bearer of the Bundesverdienstkreuz (Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany).

Johanna Ickert

Johanna Ickert

Johanna Ickert works as a director, editor and cultural anthopologist at the point where arts and sciences intersect. She graduated with honours from Humboldt University Berlin (European ethnology, sociology and journalism) and Babelsberg Film University Konrad Wolf (cinema and TV direction). Currently, she works as a Marie Curie Research Fellow on her doctoral thesis on the potential of audio-visual and interactive forms of narrative for the communication of climate and geographical risks. Her films have been shown at numerous international festivals and awarded several prizes.

Ulrich Wessolleck

Ulrich Wessollek

The Emsland in 1983 – if you were young, you were bound to leave. So was I, feeling that the adventure that life is must be elsewhere. On my way, I was involved in the production of an animated film, and then it was pictures all the way down. A camera and sound assistant, an editor, a cinematographer and photographer. Bonn, Berlin and the rest of the world. News were mostly bad. Studied at Berlin University of the Arts. Presently, there’s only good news. Eberswalde, involved in town marketing amidst all the doings and goings-on. Life is at my doorstep.

JURY SHORT FEATURE FILM

Lilian Engelmann

Lilian Engelmann has been living in Eberswalde since 2015. An art historian and curator, she works at the Berlin Senate Department of Culture and European Affairs as an expert for literature, film and the visual arts. Her involvement in media-based art goes back many years and has included being a jury member for the Kassel Documentary and Video Festival.

Duc Ngo Ngoc

Duc Ngo Ngoc is a Vietnamese-German filmmaker who came to Berlin at the age of five. In 2010, he took up studies in media design and art at Bauhaus University Weimar, leading him to a B.F.A. degree. Since October 2015, he has been studying film direction at Babelsberg Film University Konrad Wolf as part of a master programme which also brought him to Hanoi Academy of Theatre and Cinema for an exchange semester.

Denis Demmerle

Denis Demmerle

Denis Demmerle, a creative artist, knows the festival scene in and around Berlin from a variety of perspectives. Since 2009, he has been publishing the Berliner-Filmfestivals.de online magazine. Since 2017, he has been responsible for the PR and marketing activities of FilmFestival Cottbus. He is also the head of the festival’s affiliated programme named 5×4 – Brandenburger Festivalkino, to which the Provinziale contributes.

Der Stachel

“THE PRICKLE” SPECIAL AWARD

How can we live without jeopardising ourselves? The question is a long-standing one. The answers attempted so far have included not only plain scientific balances but also our endeavours to lead a life worth living, in view of the variety and unrestfulness of our desires. Whether our ever-more-radical appropriations of nature will save us or kill us has been a cause for argument whenever new technologies arose.

The present discourse on sustainability has turned this argument into a promise: It seems to be only a matter of time and good will to build a society that has made its peace with nature. Do we have good reason for such optimism? Or is what we call a sustainable way of living an issue to be tackled afresh every day? Do we maybe need some kind of thorn to prick us every now and then, reminding us that we need to rethink our own practice?

Every year, we admit films with prickles to our competitions: documentaries, animated and feature films which contribute to the sustainability debate in a productive way.

What we are looking for is a film that tells neither tidings of joy nor messages of doom; a film that deliberately upsets our well-studied stances, allows for uncertainty and traces contradictions.

From 2017 on, PROVINZIALE and Eberswalde University for Sustainable Development will award the PRICKLE special prize for the best cinematic contribution to this ongoing issue of our time, sustainability.

A total of nine entries have been nominated for the PRICKLE by this year’s programme advisory boards. Among these are three long and three short documentaries and three short feature films. The candidates are marked in the programmes.

  • “THE PRICKLE” special award: 1,000 EUR donated by Eberswalde University for Sustainable Development

“DER STACHEL” SPECIAL JURY AWARD

Melanie Adam

Melanie Adam
Melanie Adam and the town of Eberswalde have had a happy on-and-off relationship for more than 15 years. It started rather by coincidence in 2004 but proved to be crucial. After studying International Forest Ecosystem Management (B.Sc.) and Regional Development and Conservation (M.Sc.), she found a career at Eberswalde University for Sustainable Development (HNEE). Since 2019, she has been in charge of the university’s project HNEE Storytelling – a Soap Opera on Sustainability, which is founded by the Brandenburg State Ministry of Research, Economy and Culture. Recently, she started working on a second, more fariytale-like project named Es wa(h)r einmal… HNEE (True) Storytelling, where she is able to combine her knowledge on sustainability and storytelling with personal fates and accounts full of lifeblood and imagination.

Felicitas Hasper

Felicitas Hasper

Fee Hasper wanted to take to the stage but ended up on a farm, which is totally acceptable because, even as an undergraduate at Eberswalde University for Sustainable Development, you never cut ties with art and culture. As Student Vice President of the university, she contributes to the Stachel jury from the students’ point of view. Owning both a projector and screen, she has all the means of thoroughly scrutinising this year’s submissions within her own four walls.

Daniel_Kurth300

Daniel Kurth

Daniel Kurth, born in Eberswalde-Finow in 1973, completed extra-occupational studies in public administration and worked at the Barnim district administration until recently. He won a direct mandate at the 2014 Brandenburg State Parliament elections and joined the parliament’s Committee for Interior and Community Affairs. In July 2018, he was elected District Administrator for the rural district of Barnim.

Nora v. Billerbeck

Nora v. Billerbeck, born in Berlin in 1965, studied voice at Hanns Eisler Academy of Music. She has been a member of the Rundfunkchor Berlin since 1987 and a founding member of the Berlin Film Choir. Nora has lived in the Barnim district since 2002. Together with her husband Sören, she founded the Barnimer Brauhaus brewery in 2017. Their passion for culture and local brewing traditions has made the company an active supporter of regional networks.

Richard Hurding und das neue "e"

Das "e"

Das „e“Jeden Tag schmälert unsere Technologie das physische Ausmaß der dinglichen Welt. Sogar die Notwendigkeit, mit dieser Welt zu interagieren, schwindet auf ein Minimum. Für mich als Designer wirft das die Frage auf: Soll am Ende wirklich alles auf Energie und sonst nichts reduziert werden? „Weniger ist mehr“ –ist dieser modernistische Ausspruch beherzigenswert oder kritikwürdig? Ausgehend von dieser Frage ist das „e“ zu einem minimalistischen Ausdruck digitaler Visualisierung geworden, mit Hilfe moderner 3D-Drucktechnologie. Videofilme sind nichts weiter als digitale Signale. In diesem Fall beschreiben sie ein „e“, das schließlich als Anordnung von Farben auf einem flachen Untergrund Gestalt findet. Die Ausnahme von diesem Design ist der Preis „DER STACHEL“. Wegen seines Themas –Nachhaltigkeit –muss dieser Preis ernsthafter daherkommen. Er wird aus biologisch abbaubarem Polylactid (PLA) und recyceltem Kunststoff hergestellt und symbolisiert die Ernsthaftigkeit der täglich wichtiger werdenden Nachhaltigkeitsproblematik. Dank der Idee, die der PROVINZIALEzugrunde liegt, konnten in der Entwurfsphase mehrere positive Dinge verwirklicht werden: Das „e“ wird aus „provinziellem“ Material hergestellt, das heißt PLA-Kunststoff aus pflanzlicher Stärke, biologisch erzeugt und biologisch abbaubar. Die Datenaufbereitung für den 3D-Druck und den Druck selbst hat YOUin3D übernommen, eine junge Firma aus Berlin-Mitte. Kleine Ideengeber wie diese Firma können überall zu jeder Zeit auftauchen. Sie sind es, die das Leben in der Provinz weitergehen lassen.

Richard Hurding, Designer,
Joachimsthal/UNESCO Biosphere Schorfheide-Chorin
Zelfo Technology / BIORAMA-Projekt

INTERNATIONALER WETTBEWERB

Der internationale Wettbewerb wird in den Kategorien Dokumentarfilm und Kurzspielfilm ausgetragen. In Bezug auf die Filmemacher*innenund ihre Herkunftsländer gibt es keine Einschränkungen. Aus den eingesandten Beiträgen werden durch die Programmbeirätedie Wettbewerbsfilme ausgewählt. Der Filmpreis -das „e“ wird von der Jury am Ende des Festivals in jeder Kategorie für die jeweils beste filmische Gesamtleistung vergeben.

In der Kategorie Dokumentarfilm ermittelt die Jury den Preisträger der PROVINZIALE, also den besten Film zum Thema Provinz.

Mit der Preisvergabe soll das Schaffen der Preisträger*Innen gefördert werden.

  • Preis für den Besten Dokumentarfilm im Wettbewerb PROVINZIALE, 4.000 Euro, gestiftet vom Ministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie des Landes Brandenburg
  • Preis für den Besten Kurzspielfilm 2.000 Euro

PUBLIKUMSPREISE

Die Besucher des Festivals können über je einen Publikumspreis in den Kategorien Dokumentarfilm, Kurzdokumentarfilm, Kurzspielfilm und Animation entscheiden. Zu den Vorstellungen werden die entsprechenden Stimmzettel ausgegeben. Die Auszählung erfolgt unter Ausschluss der Öffentlichkeit.

  • Preis für den Publikumsliebling Dokumentarfilm 1.000 Euro
    gestiftet vom Bürgermeister der Stadt Eberswalde
  • Preis für den Publikumsliebling Kurzdokumentarfilm 1.000 Euro gestiftet vom Ministerium für Wirtschaft, Arbeit und Energie des Landes Brandenburg
  • Preis für den Publikumsliebling Kurzspielfilm 1.000 Euro
    gestiftet von der Sparkasse Barnim
  • Preis für den Publikumsliebling Animationsfilm 1.000 Euro

JURY INTERNATIONALER WETTBEWERB - DOKUMENTARFILM AB 45 MINUTEN

Birger Schmidt

Birger Schmidt

Birger Schmidt, aufgewachsen im Dorf Puttgarden auf der Ostseeinsel Fehmarn, ist Gründungsmitglied und langjähriger Vorstand des Brot & Spiele e.V. sowie Initiator und einer der drei künstlerischen Leiter des ersten und jährlich in Berlin stattfindenden internationalen Fußballfilmfestivals “11mm”, Erziehungswissenschaftler und Träger des Bundesverdienstkreuzes.

Johanna Ickert

Johanna Ickert

Johanna Ickert arbeitet als Regisseurin, Editorin und Kulturanthropologin an der Schnittstelle zwischen Kunst und Wissenschaft. Sie absolvierte jeweils mit Auszeichnung ein Studium der Europäischen Ethnologie, Soziologie und Publizistik an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin sowie ein Studium der Film- und Fernsehregie an der Filmuniversität Babelsberg Konrad Wolf. Als Marie Curie Research Fellow erforscht sie momentan im Rahmen einer praxisorientierten Promotion das Potential audiovisueller, interaktiver Erzählformen für die Kommunikation von Klima- und Georisiken. Ihre Filme liefen auf zahlreichen internationalen Festivals und wurden mehrfach ausgezeichnet.

Ulrich Wessolleck

Ulrich Wessollek

Emsland 1983 – wer jung war, wollte weg. Ich auch. Das Abenteuer Leben war woanders. Auf dem Weg lag eine Trickfilmproduktion. Danach immer was mit Bildern. Kamera- und Tonassistent, Cutter, Kameramann, Fotograf. Bonn, Berlin, Rest der Welt. Meistens schlechte Nachrichten. Studium an der Hochschule der Künste Berlin. Heute nur noch gute Nachrichten. Eberswalde. Stadtmarketing für die Stadt mitten im Drumrum. Das Leben liegt vor meiner Haustür.

JURY INTERNATIONALER WETTBEWERB KURZSPIELFILM

Lilian Engelmann

Lilian Engelmann lebt seit 2015 in Eberswalde. Sie ist Kunsthistorikerin und Kuratorin und arbeitet als Referentin für Bildende Kunst, Literatur und Film bei der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa in Berlin. Sie beschäftigt sich seit vielen Jahren mit medienbasierter Kunst und war u.a. Jurymitglied beim Kasseler Dokumentarfilm- und Videofestival.

Duc Ngo Ngoc

Duc Ngo Ngoc ist vietnamesisch-deutscher Filmemacher. Im Alter von fünf Jahren zog er nach Berlin. 2010 begann er sein Bachelor Studium der Mediengestaltung / Medienkunst (B.F.A) an der Bauhaus-Universität Weimar ab. Seit Oktober 2015 studiert er Filmregie im Master an der Filmuniversität Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF und hat ein Gastsemester an der Hanoi Academy of Theatre and Cinema absolviert.

Denis Demmerle

Denis Demmerle

Der Kulturschaffende Denis Demmerle kennt die bunte Festivallandschaft der Hauptstadtregion aus unterschiedlichsten Perspektiven. Seit 2009 gibt er das Onlinemagazin Berliner-Filmfestivals.de heraus. Für das FilmFestival Cottbus kümmert er sich seit 2017 um den Bereich PR & Marketing und leitet das Projekt 5×4 – Brandenburger Festivalkino, an dem auch die Provinziale beteiligt ist.

Der Stachel

SONDERPREIS „DER STACHEL“

Wie können wir leben, ohne uns dabei selbst zu gefährden? Diese Frage ist alt. In den versuchten Antworten stecken nicht nur nüchterne Stoffbilanzen sondern auch Bemühungen um ein gutes Leben – im Wissen um unsere vielseitigen und unruhigen Bedürfnisse. Ob wir uns mit immer radikaleren Naturaneignungen retten oder umbringen, darüber streiten sich Menschen angesichts jeder neuen Technik.

Der Nachhaltigkeitsdiskurs unserer Gegenwart hat diese Frage zu einem Versprechen gemacht. Es scheint nur eine Sache der Zeit und des guten Willens zu sein, bis wir in einer Gesellschaft leben, die ihren Frieden mit der Natur gemacht hat. Aber ist dieser Optimismus angebracht? Handelt es sich bei dem was, wir „nachhaltiges Leben“ nennen, nicht eher um eine Aufgabe, die immer neu gestellt werden muss? Brauchen wir nicht vielmehr einen Stachel, der uns immer wieder nötigt, die eigene Praxis zu kritisieren?

In jedem Jahr haben wir Animationsfilme, Spielfilme und Dokumentationen in unseren Wettbewerben, die einen solchen Stachel aufrichten und einen produktiven Beitrag zum Nachhaltigkeitsdiskurs leisten können.

Gesucht wird ein Film, der weder frohe Botschaften verkündet noch alarmistische Töne anschlägt – ein Film, der als gezielte Störung eingeübter Positionen angelegt ist, Verunsicherungen zulässt und Widersprüche aufspürt.

Seit 2017 vergibt die PROVINZIALE zusammen mit der Hochschule für nachhaltige Entwicklung Eberswalde den Sonderpreis „DER STACHEL“ für die beste filmische Auseinandersetzung mit dem einem fortwährenden Problem unseres Lebens: Nachhaltigkeit.

Dieses Jahr haben die Mitglieder des Programmbeirats insgesamt neun Filme für den Preis „DER STACHEL“ nominiert. Drei Dokumentarfilme, drei Kurzdokumentarfilme und drei Kurzspielfilme – die Filme sind gekennzeichnet.

  • Sonderpreis „DER STACHEL“ 1.000 Euro gestiftet von der Hochschule für nachhaltige Entwicklung Eberswalde

JURY SONDERPREIS "DER STACHEL"

Melanie Adam

Melanie Adam

Melanie Adam und Eberswalde verbindet eine gut 15-jährige, glückliche On-and-Off-Beziehung, die 2004 eher zufällig begann und sich als wegweisend erwies. Nach zwei erfolgreich abgeschlossenen Studiengängen in International Forest Ecosystem Management (B.Sc.) und Regionalentwicklung und Naturschutz (M.Sc.) begann auch ihr beruflicher Werdegang an der Hochschule für nachhaltige Entwicklung Eberswalde (HNEE). Seit 2019 koordiniert Melanie Adam hier das vom MWFK geförderte Projekt: HNEE Storytelling – Die Nachhaltigkeits-Soap-Opera aus Eberswalde sowie jüngst ein zweites märchenhaftes Projekt: Es wa(h)r einmal… HNEE (True) Storytelling, worin sie ihre fachlichen Kenntnisse im Bereich Nachhaltigkeit und Storytelling mit persönlichen (Lebens-)Geschichten, ganz viel Herzblut und Phantasie verknüpft.

Felicitas Hasper

Felicitas Hasper

Fee Hasper wollte mal ins Theater, ist aber auf dem Bauernhof gelandet. Doch das ist in Ordnung, denn auch als Studentin der HNE Eberswalde verliert man niemals den Kontakt zu Kunst und Kultur. Als studentische Vizepräsidentin bringt Fee Hasper den Blickwinkel der Studierenden in die „Stachel“-Jury. Da sie in ihren vier Wänden sowohl einen Projektor als auch eine Leinwand ihr Eigen nennt, verfügt sie über die nötige Kompetenz, die diesjährigen Filme genauestens in Augenschein nehmen zu können.

Daniel Kurth

Daniel Kurth, geboren1973 in Eberswalde-Finow, absolvierte ein berufsbegleitendes Studium mit Abschluss als Diplom-Verwaltungsbetriebswirt und war zuletzt beim Landkreises Barnim tätig. Bei der Landtagswahl in Brandenburg 2014 errang er ein Direktmandat. Im Landtag gehörte er als ordentliches Mitglied dem Ausschuss für Inneres und Kommunales an. Juli 2018 wurde er zum Landrat des Landkreises Barnim gewählt.

Nora v. Billerbeck

Nora v. Billerbeck, geboren 1965 in Berlin, studierte Gesang an der Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler. Sie ist seit 1987 Mitglied im Rundfunkchor Berlin, Gründungsmitglied des Berliner Filmchors und seit 2002 im Barnim zuhause. Mit ihrem Ehemann Sören gründete sie 2017 das Barnimer Brauhaus. Die Leidenschaft für Kultur & regionale Braukunst verbindet das Barnimer Brauhaus mit Aktionen zur Unterstützung eines regionalen Netzwerkes.