HEIMATFENSTER 2019



SAT 12. OCT - SAT 19. OCT / FOYER

The Provinziale is an international festival that takes a look at various countries and places all around the world. But what about the province next door?
This programme is dedicated to films which focus on our own region. Heimatfenster means 'window to our homeland' and is a specially designed screening booth where films can be watched all around the clock during the festival.

Junge Landwirtschaft gewinnt Neuland / Young agriculture wins unknown territory /

Junge Landwirtschaft gewinnt Neuland / Young agriculture wins unknown territory /

Germany / 2019 / undefined / 26 min
OT German / UT -

Is there an approach to farming that takes biodiversity into account, keeps animals appropriately and uses nature‘s resources in a sustainable way? Désirée Pfenninger and Jan Beckmann‘s documentary Young Agriculture Wins Unknown Territory pursues this question and shows how young farmers from Brandenburg try to bring their alternatives to conventional agriculture to life.

Jan Beckmann, Désireé Pfenninger

Director: Jan Beckmann, Désireé Pfenninger, Producer: Jan Beckmann, unkult produktion,
Script: Desiree Pfenninger, Jan Beckmann, DoP: Jan Beckmann, Desiree Pfenninger,
Editor: Desiree Pfenninger, Sound: Jan Beckmann, Désirée Pfenninger, Music: -

- Jan Beckmann gathered cinematic experience in Berlin, Munich and Austria, including first projects of his own, but then proceeded doing an apprenticeship as a cook and working in the profession in Austria, France and Germany. He eventually came to Eberswalde to study organic farming and there rediscovered his old passion for film. - Désirée Pfenninger was born in a small village in South Germany in 1985. After completing a farming apprenticeship, she moved to Berlin in 2003 to work for various film and art projects. In pursuit of her interest in pictures, she took up studies in photography and and photographic engineering in Cologne and, from 2011, film direction at Filmuniversität Potsdam, where she graduated with honours in 2016. Since then, she has been living and working as a freelancer in Berlin.



Finow /

Finow /

Germany / 2019 / undefined / 7 min
OT German / UT -

Finow is an independent forest state whose inhabitants mainly feed on bananas. In order to earn foreign currency to buy them bananas, the Finowians build scaffolding from dawn till dusk. At least, that‘s what the script says. The film was shot as a documentary in a forest kindergarten.

Susanne Quester

Director: Susanne Quester, Producer: HFF München,
Script: Susanne Quester, DoP: Jens Grünhagen,
Editor: Susanne Quester, Sound: Mieko Azuma, Music: Richard Strauss, Edward Grieg

Susanne Mi-Son Quester was born in Starnberg in 1979. After a professional training as a cellist, she studied documentary film at HFF Munich and the Korean National University of Arts. Since 2006, Susanne has been a freelance writer and a producer of documentary films and radio features.



STILBRUCH Reportage - Die Provinziale Das Filmfest Eberswalde / STILBRUCH Reportage: Provinziale – the Eberswalde Film Festival /

STILBRUCH Reportage - Die Provinziale Das Filmfest Eberswalde / STILBRUCH Reportage: Provinziale – the Eberswalde Film Festival /

Germany / 2017 / undefined / 28 min
OT German / UT -

In 2015, the Eberswalde Filmfest is taking place for the 15th time. The organisers have succeeded in making the so-called Provinziale an important festival. Filmmakers are arriving from countries like Australia, the US and Kyrgyzstan. The thematic focus is on provinces: What is the daily life of a fisherman on Lampedusa like? How does life go on in Iraq‘s Shingal mountains after the cruel ISIS terrorist attack? And why is cowboy-inspired line dancing so popular in Brandenburg, of all places? Knut Elstermann meets the organisers, filmmakers and residents of Eberswalde, without whom the festival wouldn‘t be possible. The Provinziale depends on and is dedicated to its audience and gets support from local craft enterprises as well as lots of volunteer helpers. This reportage follows Eberswalde turning into a cinematic town for ten days.

Steffen Prell, Vanessa Loewel

Director: Steffen Prell, Vanessa Loewel, Producer: rbb-Fernsehen,
Script: Steffen Prell, Vanessa Loewl, DoP: Friedhelm Grothe, Eliane Rehor, Robert Schneider,
Editor: Cornelia Zaluskowski, Sound: Olaf Bublitz, Jens Kuhl, Anne Gebhardt, Pierre Gaulke, Udo Schünemann, Music: -

Vanessa Loewel studied France in Berlin, with a great deal of literature and art history. She has been volunteering at the Electronic Media School in Babelsberg and has been working since 2008 as a freelance author for the culture department of rbb Fernsehen and for the radio. Steffen Prell studied politics and media sciences in Leipzig and Strasbourg, followed by a traineeship at the SFB and rbb. Since 2004 he is a freelance author and editor in the culture department of rbb Fernsehen, where he focuses on film and classical music.

HEIMATFENSTER 2019


SA 12. OKT – SA 19. OKT / FOYER

Die Provinziale, ein internationales Filmfest, bei dem viele Länder und Orte der Welt gezeigt werden. Aber wie steht es um die eigene Provinz?
Hier widmen wir uns den Filmen, die die eigene Region in den Fokus rücken. Das „Heimatfenster“ ist ein eigens gestalteter Sichtplatz, an dem die Filme im Festivalzeitraum rund um die Uhr zum Anschauen bereitstehen.

Junge Landwirtschaft gewinnt Neuland / Young agriculture wins unknown territory /

Junge Landwirtschaft gewinnt Neuland / Young agriculture wins unknown territory /

Germany / 2019 / undefined / 26 min
OT German / UT -

Eine Landwirtschaft die Biodiversität berücksichtigt, Tiere artgerecht hält und gleichzeitig einen Nachhaltigen Umgang mit den Ressurcen der Natur vorlebt. Gibt es das? Der Dokumentarfilm „Junge Landwirtschaft gewinnt Neuland“ von Désirée Pfenninger und Jan Beckmann geht dieser Frage nach und zeigt wie junge Landwirt*innen aus Brandenburg versuchen ihren Gegenentwurf zur konventionellen Landwirtschaft zu verwirklichen.

Jan Beckmann, Désireé Pfenninger

Director: Jan Beckmann, Désireé Pfenninger, Producer: Jan Beckmann, unkult produktion,
Script: Desiree Pfenninger, Jan Beckmann, DoP: Jan Beckmann, Desiree Pfenninger,
Editor: Desiree Pfenninger, Sound: Jan Beckmann, Désirée Pfenninger, Music: -

Jan Beckmann sammelte Erfahrungen in Berlin, München und Österreich beim Film und realisierte erste Projekte, absolvierte er zunächst eine Ausbildung zum Koch und arbeitete als solcher in Österreich, Frankreich und Deutschland. Schließlich kam er durch das Studium der ökologischen Landwirtschaft nach Eberswalde und entdeckte hier seine alte Leidenschaft für den Film wieder. Désirée Pfenninger wurde 1985 in einem kleinen Dorf in Süddeutschland geboren. Nach einer landwirtschaftlichen Ausbildung zog sie 2003 nach Berlin und arbeitete in verschiedenen Film- und Kunstprojekten. Ihrem Interesse an Bildern folgend, begann sie Fotografie und Phototechnik in Köln und ab 2011 Filmregie an der Filmuniversität Potsdam zu studieren, wo sie 2016 mit Auszeichnung abschloss. Seitdem lebt und arbeitet sie frei in Berlin.



Finow /

Finow /

Germany / 2019 / undefined / 7 min
OT German / UT -

Finow ist ein unabhängiger Waldstaat, dessen Bewohner sich hauptsächlich von Bananen ernähren. Um die Devisen für die Bananen zu beschaffen, bauen die Finowianer von früh bis spät Gerüste. Das sagt zumindest der Text. Gedreht wurde dokumentarisch in einem Waldkindergarten.

Susanne Quester

Director: Susanne Quester, Producer: HFF München,
Script: Susanne Quester, DoP: Jens Grünhagen,
Editor: Susanne Quester, Sound: Mieko Azuma, Music: Richard Strauss, Edward Grieg

Susanne Mi-Son Quester wurde 1979 in Starnberg geboren. Nach einer Ausbildung zur Cellistin absolvierte sie ein Dokumentarfilmstudium an der HFF München und an der Korean National University of Arts. Seit 2006 ist Susanne als freie Autorin sowie als Produzentin für Dokumentarfilme und Radiofeatures tätig.



STILBRUCH Reportage - Die Provinziale Das Filmfest Eberswalde / STILBRUCH Reportage: Provinziale – the Eberswalde Film Festival /

STILBRUCH Reportage - Die Provinziale Das Filmfest Eberswalde / STILBRUCH Reportage: Provinziale – the Eberswalde Film Festival /

Germany / 2017 / undefined / 28 min
OT German / UT -

Zum 12. Mal findet das Filmfest in Eberswalde im Jahr 2015 statt. Die Organisatoren haben es geschafft, ihr Festival zu einem relevanten Festival zu machen. Aus Australien, den USA oder Kirgisistan kommen Filmemacher angereist. Thematischer Schwerpunkt ist die Provinz: Wie sieht der Alltag eines Fischers auf Lampedusa aus? Wie geht das Leben im irakischen Shingal-Gebirge weiter, nach dem grausamen Überfall der ISIS-Terroristen? Und warum ist der Cowboy-Tanz Line Dance gerade in Brandenburg so beliebt? Knut Elstermann trifft die Organisatoren, Filmemacher - und die Eberswalder, ohne die das Festival nicht möglich wäre. Denn die Provinziale lebt von und für ihr Publikum, Unterstützung kommt auch von örtlichen Handwerksbetrieben und vielen freiwilligen Helfern. Die Stilbruch-Reportage ist dabei, wenn sich Eberswalde für zehn Tage in eine Filmstadt verwandelt.

Steffen Prell, Vanessa Loewel

Director: Steffen Prell, Vanessa Loewel, Producer: rbb-Fernsehen,
Script: Steffen Prell, Vanessa Loewl, DoP: Friedhelm Grothe, Eliane Rehor, Robert Schneider,
Editor: Cornelia Zaluskowski, Sound: Olaf Bublitz, Jens Kuhl, Anne Gebhardt, Pierre Gaulke, Udo Schünemann, Music: -

Vanessa Loewel hat in Berlin Frankreichwissenschaften studiert, mit viel Literaturwissenschaft und Kunstgeschichte. Sie hat an der Electronic Media School in Babelsberg volontiert und arbeitet seit 2008 als freie Autorin für die Kulturredaktion des rbb Fernsehens und fürs Radio. Steffen Prell hat Politik und Medienwissenschaften in Leipzig und Straßburg studiert, anschließend absolvierte ein Volontariat beim SFB und rbb. Seit 2004 ist er freier Autor und Redakteur in der Kulturredaktion beim rbb Fernsehen, wo er sich vor allem den Themen Film und Klassische Musik widmet.