BLOCK 1 / Eröffnungsabend

Saturday, 8. October, 18pm

 

Pa Va Hêng, The Dust Of Modern Life /

Pa Va Hêng, The Dust Of Modern Life /

Germany, Frankreich, Vietnam / 2021 / Documentary / 82 min
OT Vietnamese / UT German

Liêm is a father who cooks and carries his son on his back when doing chores, and he is a farmer who threshes the harvest in bundles by hand. He lives with his wife and two sons in a small village on the edge of the jungle. They belong to the Sedan, an ethnic minority. After the village festival, the young men go into the wilderness for a few days once a year to live on what they have gathered and hunted. But modern life is also making its way here: Omnipresent loudspeaker announcements tell the 400 or so villagers alternately about the historical achievements of the resistance against the imperialist occupiers, about the world-leading sales success of the Zara shops in Hanoi or about the advantages of a new dishwashing liquid. The ritual retreat into the jungle is recorded by mobile phone and people sleep under construction tarpaulins. After days of hiking, setting traps, eating together by the fire and surfing the internet in their sleeping bags, they head back home, merrily singing political songs. A film about the importance of concrete life practice in the struggle for identity.

Franziska von Stenglin

Director: Franziska von Stenglin, Producer: Franziska von Stenglin,
Script: Franziska von Stenglin, DoP: Lucie Baudinaud,
Editor: Zuniel Kim, Marylou Vergez, Sound: Christian Wittmoser, Music: Thomas Höhl

Franziska von Stenglin, born in Munich in 1984, grew up in the Czech Republic, in Senegal, India and Germany. She studied photography in London and art at the Städelschule in Frankfurt/Main. In 2016 she made her first short film "I'm A Stranger Here Myself". "Pa Va Hêng" is her first full-length film. It hat its German premiere in October 2021 at DOKfest Leipzig.

BLOCK 4

Sunday, 9. October, 20pm

 

Yonaguni /

Yonaguni /

France / 2021 / Documentary / 77 min
OT Japanese / UT English

Naho, Genki, Mau, Mimi and Ichika live in Yonaguni, a Japanese island that lies like a rock in the sea just a hundred kilometres from Taiwan. They are fifteen years old and live safely and well educated with their families. Nevertheless, they will leave the island in a few months. In this phase of transition, not only do expectations of their own lives come into focus, but also the fate of their rural community with its peculiar language and tense relationship with the dominant mainland Japanese culture. An exemplary film about the disappearance of provincial individuality.

Anush Hamzehian and Vittorio Mortarotti

Director: Anush Hamzehian and Vittorio Mortarotti, Producer: Fabrizio Polpettini,
Script: Anush Hamzehian and Vittorio Mortarotti, DoP: Anush Hamzehian and Vittorio Mortarotti,
Editor: Gabriel Gonzalez, Sound: Anush Hamzehian and Vittorio Mortarotti, Music: None

Anush Hamzehian and Vittorio Mortarotti have been working together on projects involving political refugees, former miners, prostitutes, tsunami survivors and war veterans. Their video-photographic installations investigate the dynamics of memory and how history interferes with private fates. They have also published art books and made documentary films. In 2018 they released "Monsieur Kubota", a film about the search for immortality.

BLOCK 5

Monday, 10. October, 18pm

 

The Great Basin /

The Great Basin /

United States / 2021 / Documentary / 91 min
OT English / UT English

The film creates an intricate panorama of rural Nevada along 'America's loneliest road'. Here in the province, the mechanisms of global economy and politics have a direct impact on people's lives. We are shown how local self-government can be a painstaking process, how Native Americans still live here under dramatic circumstances, how towns are deprived of water and how people try to live ordinary lives between livestock farming, the gaming industry, prostitution, religiosity and practised death penalty.

Chivas DeVinck

Director: Chivas DeVinck, Producer: Chivas DeVinck,
Script: Chivas DeVinck, DoP: Yoshio Kitagawa,
Editor: Matthieu Laclau & Yann-Shan Tsai, Sound: Danfeng Li, Music: Felicia Atkinson

Chivas DeVinck, director and producer, lives in New York. His feature film debut was "The Poets", released in 2018. His works have been screened at international festivals, including South by Southwest (Austin, US), International Filmfestival Mannheim-Heidelberg (Mannheim, DE), Encounters South African International Documentary Festival (Cape Town, ZA) and the Pan African Film Festival (Los Angeles, US).

BLOCK 6

Monday, 10. October, 20pm

 

Barataria /

Barataria /

Spain, France / 2021 / Documentary / 49 min
OT Spanish / UT English

Valdeluz, a planned city in Spain, is a failed real-estate investment project. Alien to its surroundings, it parts the landscape abruptly, completely disconnected from the local metabolism, unfinished, fragmented and questionable. Still it is home to ordinary people who try to master their everyday lives here. The film showcases the fundamental structure of modern life -- its economic and ecological detachment from the landscape -- in a very tangible way. Can there be a right life in the wrong one?

Julie N. Van Qui

Director: Julie N. Van Qui, Producer: Jean Marie Gigon,
Script: Julie N. Van Qui, DoP: Julie N. Van Qui,
Editor: Rodolphe Molla, Sound: Christelle Granja, Music: Romain Ozanne

After a career in applied arts and anthropology between France and Spain, Julie Nguyen Van Qui is now moving towards the direction and production of documentary films. Since 2013, she has supported the writing of film projects with The Kingdom and then SaNoSi Productions. "Barataria" won the Best Short Film Award at the 2021 Sheffield DocFest.

BLOCK 8

Tuesday, 11. October, 20pm

 

Auf eine Tasse Kaffee mit der Stasi / At the coffe table with the Stasi /

Auf eine Tasse Kaffee mit der Stasi / At the coffe table with the Stasi /

Germany / 2021 / Documentary / 82 min
OT German / UT -

30 years after the 1989 Peaceful Revolution, young people from Frankfurt (Oder) set out to investigate what it was like. The people they interview today were adversaries back then. While one of them typed his fingers down to the bone for the Stasi security service, the other one remembers rallying in front of Stasi's telephone operator building and singing »So ein schöner Tag wie heute« (On a Day as Beautiful as Today). Another one sat down at the coffee table with the local Stasi director in Frankfurt to negotiate access to the records while files were being destroyed by the thousands. On their journey back into history, the young people come across the question how it all could turn out so peacefully in the end. A film about successful dialogue, retrospection and the open question what one can learn from those experiences for today.

Johanna Pohland

Director: Johanna Pohland, Producer: Bürgerbühne Kleist Forum,
Script: Gudrun Herrbold & Johanna Pohland, DoP: Johanna Pohland,
Editor: Johanna Pohland, Sound: Johanna Pohland, Music: Divers

Johanna Pohland works as a freelance documentary filmmaker, media educator and social justice trainer. Since 2006 she has been involved in theatre film productions such as Michael Thalheimer's production "Die Ratten" at Deutsches Theater in Berlin. In 2010 she started exhibiting her own graphic art works in the international Kunsthaus Tacheles in Berlin. At the moment, she is working on a film project on transformation processes in Frankfurt (Oder) after the German Peaceful Revolution.

BLOCK 9

Wednesday, 12. October, 18pm

 

Veins of the Amazon /

Veins of the Amazon /

Peru / 2021 / Documentary / 71 min
OT Spanish / UT English

In the north-east of Peru, long stretches of the Amazon River wind through the jungle, connecting towns and villages which are not accessible by road. As air transport is expensive, for many people the Amazon is their only link to the outside world. Multi-storey ferries shuttle between towns and remote settlements, carrying travellers and their goods. They bring the supplies needed for living to old and newly-built villages, and their crews operate under harsh and sometimes hazardous conditions. Wherever they appear, they are eagerly awaited. A film on how human life depends on means of transport, supplies and muscle power.

Álvaro Sarmiento, Terje Toomistu, Diego Sarmiento

Director: Álvaro Sarmiento, Terje Toomistu, Diego Sarmiento, Producer: Álvaro Sarmiento, Diego Sarmiento,
Script: Álvaro Sarmiento, DoP: Terje Toomistu, Diego Sarmiento,
Editor: Fabricio Deza, Álvaro Sarmiento, Diego Sarmiento, Sound: Cesar Centeno, Music: *

Terje Toomistu is an anthropologist and documentary filmmaker from Estonia, currently employed as a Research Fellow at the University of Tartu. Her most recent film was the award-winning "Soviet Hippies" (2017). She is now embarking on a new project about the young Estonian diaspora, specifically in relation to higher-education mobility and digital nomadism. Alvaro and Diego Sarmiento are two Peruvian filmmaker brothers. Their debut feature film, "Green River. The Time of the Yakurunas" premiered at the 67th Berlin Film Festival in 2017. Diego directed several short films, two of which were screened at Berlinale. Alvaro is a visual artist and screenwriter.

BLOCK 10

Wednesday, 12. October, 20pm

 

Vida Férrea / Steel Life /

Vida Férrea / Steel Life /

Peru, Spain / 2022 / Documentary / 95 min
OT Spanish / UT English

High up in the Peruvian Andes, iron ore is mined and transported by rail all the way down to the freighters waiting in the Pacific. Life up there is hard and full of deprivation. The settlement is at an altitude of almost 4,400 m, and anyone working there has to leave it before their 60th birthday lest they die of blood thickening. The dust released from the wagons and dispersed by the wind contains high levels of lead, which enters the blood of pregnant women and children. The film impressively traces the path of the ore and the consequences of the work and gives various people along the route the opportunity to talk about themselves, their lives and their perspective on things.

Manuel Bauer

Director: Manuel Bauer, Producer: Carlos Cárdena / Alejandro Lázaro / Sandra Yépez/ Manuel Bauer,
Script: Manuel Bauer, DoP: José Luis Salomón,
Editor: Clara M. Malagelada / Manuel Bauer, Sound: David Romero/ Ismael Calvo / David Mantecón, Music: None

Manuel Bauer was born in Lima, Peru, in 1974. He graduated in Communication Sciences from Lima University in 1997. Later he won a Fulbright scholarship to pursue an MA in Film at New School University, in New York, from 1998 to 2000, where he studied with Allan Berliner and discovered documentary from a new perspective. That year he moved to Madrid, Spain, and started working on feature documentaries and fiction films. "Vida Ferrea" is the first feature film he has directed himself.

BLOCK 11

Thursday, 13. October, 18pm

 

Toiveiden koulu / School of Hope / Schule der Hoffnung

Toiveiden koulu / School of Hope / Schule der Hoffnung

Finland, France, Morocco / 2020 / Documentary / 78 min
OT Arabic / UT English

Shepherds live in the vast expanses of desert east of the Moroccan Atlas Mountains. With droughts prevailing for years, life is barren and hard. Many families have already emigrated. In order to improve their children's prospects, the remaining families have built a school ‒ without electricity or running water. With the arrival of the new teacher, the remaining children get an opportunity to learn. Even though they are exhausted and tired after walking miles to school, he manages to motivate them with the prospect of earning themselves a better life through learning. Still, he is met with resistance because not all parents accept that they will be losing cheap labourers in the process. In addition, the last water source in the area is drying up. For three years, the film team have followed the development of students and parents and traced the hopes and problems of the people whose livelihoods are threatened by drought.

Mohamed El Aboudi

Director: Mohamed El Aboudi, Producer: Pertti Veijalainen/Illume, Lamia Chraibi, La Prod / Hind Saïh, Bellota Films / Dominique Barneaud, Bellota Films / Aimee Link, Vulcan Productions,
Script: Mohamed El Aboudi, DoP: Hannu-Pekka Vitikainen / Marita Hällfors / Päivi Kettunen,
Editor: Lizi Gelber / Florence Bresson / Mohamed El Aboudi / Mikko Sippola, Sound: Pietari Koskinen / Kirsi Korhonen, SoundeFilm, Music: Richard Horowitz & Andrew Silagy

Mohamed El Aboudi was born in Morocco in 1961 and graduated from Bond University, Australia with an MA in Film and Television. He currently resides in Finland, where he was awarded a prize as best and most experienced documentary director by the Finnish Broadcasting Company YLE in 2006. His long documentary "Dance of Outlaws" had its world premiere at Locarno International Film Festival, where it received the prize Premio Zonta Club Locarno, with several other prizes to follow. He has also directed more than 30 short TV documentaries.

BLOCK 14

Friday, 14. October, 20pm

 

La Conquista de las Ruinas / Conquest of the ruins / Die Eroberung der Ruinen

La Conquista de las Ruinas / Conquest of the ruins / Die Eroberung der Ruinen

Argentina, Bolivia / 2020 / Documentary / 88 min
OT Spanish / UT English

The rapid growth of new megacities is tantamount to the destruction of the earth's surface. As the soil is sealed, traces and relics of past ages disappear. But for many young people, life depends on the wages they earn on the building sites. As the film accompanies workers in Capinota, Bolivia, it offers different perspectives on the dynamics of urbanisation and a meditation on the use of concrete in history, on mining, gated communities, archeology and paleontology, the vanishing of earth-related knowledge and the scope of things one can expect from a short human life.

Eduardo Gómez

Director: Eduardo Gómez, Producer: Pensilvania Films, Rodante Films,
Script: Eduardo Gómez, DoP: Eduardo Gómez,
Editor: Damián Tetelbaum, Sound: Joaquín Rajadel, Music: Nicolás Deluca

Eduardo Gómez, born in 1986, is a producer and scriptwriter from Bolivia. Until 2007, he studied filmmaking in La Fábrica, Escuela Internacional de Cine. He also has a degree in Social Communications. In 2014 he co-wrote and produced the documentary "Quinuera" by Ariel Soto. "La Conquista de las Ruinas" is his first documentary film.

BLOCK 1 / Eröffnungsabend

Samstag, 8. Oktober, 18 Uhr

 

Pa Va Hêng, The Dust Of Modern Life /

Pa Va Hêng, The Dust Of Modern Life /

Germany, Frankreich, Vietnam / 2021 / Documentary / 82 min
OT Vietnamese / UT German

Liêm ist ein Vater, der kocht und seinen Sohn bei der Hausarbeit im Rückentuch trägt und er ist ein Bauer, der die Ernte in Bündeln per Hand drischt. Er lebt mit seiner Frau und den beiden Söhnen in einem kleinen Dorf am Rande des Dschungels. Sie sind Angehörige der Sedan, einer ethnischen Minderheit. Nach dem Dorffest gehen die jungen Männer einmal im Jahr für ein paar Tage in die Wildnis, um dort von Gesammeltem und Gejagtem zu leben. Aber auch hier hält das moderne Leben seinen Einzug: Omnipräsente Lautsprecheransagen künden den rund 400 Dorfbewohnern abwechselnd von den historischen Leistungen des Widerstandes gegen den imperialistischen Besatzer, vom weltweit führenden Umsatzerfolg der Zara-Shops in Hanoi oder von den Vorzügen des neuen Geschirrspülmittels. Auch der rituelle Rückzug in den Urwald wird heute per Handy festgehalten und man schläft unter Bauplanen. Nach Tagen des Wanderns, Fallenstellens, Gemeinsam-am-Feuer-Essens und Im-Schlafsack-im-Internet-Surfens geht es, freudig politische Lieder singend, wieder zurück nach Hause. Ein Film über die Bedeutung der konkreten Lebenspraxis beim Ringen um Identität.

Franziska von Stenglin

Director: Franziska von Stenglin, Producer: Franziska von Stenglin,
Script: Franziska von Stenglin, DoP: Lucie Baudinaud,
Editor: Zuniel Kim, Marylou Vergez, Sound: Christian Wittmoser, Music: Thomas Höhl

Franziska von Stenglin, geboren 1984 in München, wuchs in der Tschechischen Republik, in Senegal, Indien und Deutschland auf. Sie studierte Fotografie in London und Kunst an der Städelschule in Frankfurt/Main. 2016 drehte sie ihren ersten Kurzfilm „I’m A Stranger Here Myself“. „Pa Va Hêng“ ist ihr erster Langfilm. Er feierte seine deutsche Premiere im Oktober 2021 beim DOKfest Leipzig.

BLOCK 4

Sonntag, 9. Oktober, 20 Uhr

 

Yonaguni /

Yonaguni /

France / 2021 / Documentary / 77 min
OT Japanese / UT English

Naho, Genki, Mau, Mimi and Ichika leben in Yonaguni, einer japanischen Insel, die wie ein Fels im Meer nur hundert Kilometer von Taiwan entfernt liegt. Sie sind fünfzehn Jahre alt und leben geborgen und gut ausgebildet in ihren Familien. Dennoch werden sie die Insel in einigen Monaten verlassen. In dieser Phase des Übergangs rücken nicht nur die Erwartungen an ihr eigenes Leben in den Blick, sondern auch das Schicksal dieser ländlichen Gemeinschaft mit ihrer eigenen Sprache und einem spannungsreichen Verhältnis zur dominierenden japanischen Kultur. Ein exemplarischer Film über das Verschwinden provinzieller Eigenart.

Anush Hamzehian and Vittorio Mortarotti

Director: Anush Hamzehian and Vittorio Mortarotti, Producer: Fabrizio Polpettini,
Script: Anush Hamzehian and Vittorio Mortarotti, DoP: Anush Hamzehian and Vittorio Mortarotti,
Editor: Gabriel Gonzalez, Sound: Anush Hamzehian and Vittorio Mortarotti, Music: None

Anush Hamzehian und Vittorio Mortarotti haben gemeinsam an Projekten mit politischen Flüchtlingen, ehemaligen Bergarbeitern, Prostituierten, Tsunami-Überlebenden und Kriegsveteranen gearbeitet. Ihre Video- und Fotoinstallationen untersuchen die Dynamik der Erinnerung und wie Geschichte in private Schicksale eingreift. Sie haben außerdem Kunstbücher veröffentlicht und Dokumentarfilme gedreht. 2018 erschien „Monsieur Kubota“, ein Film über die Suche nach der Unsterblichkeit.

BLOCK 5

Montag, 10. Oktober, 18 Uhr

 

The Great Basin /

The Great Basin /

United States / 2021 / Documentary / 91 min
OT English / UT English

Entlang der "einsamsten Straße in Amerika" entwirft der Film ein komplexes Panorama des ländlichen Nevada. In der Provinz greifen die Dynamiken der globalen Wirtschaft und der großen Politik unmittelbar in das Leben der Menschen ein. Wir erleben die Mühen der kommunalen Selbstverwaltung, das Drama der immer noch hier lebenden Natives oder den Wasserraub der Städte und sehen Menschen, die zwischen Viehhaltung, Spielindustrie, Prostitution, Religiosität und angewandter Todesstrafe versuchen, ein ganz normales Leben zu führen.

Chivas DeVinck

Director: Chivas DeVinck, Producer: Chivas DeVinck,
Script: Chivas DeVinck, DoP: Yoshio Kitagawa,
Editor: Matthieu Laclau & Yann-Shan Tsai, Sound: Danfeng Li, Music: Felicia Atkinson

Chivas DeVinck, Regisseur und Produzent, lebt in New York. Sein Spielfilmdebüt war „The Poets“, veröffentlicht im Jahr 2018. Unter den Festivals, auf denen seine Arbeiten gezeigt wurden, sind South by Southwest (Austin, USA), Internationales Filmfestival Mannheim-Heidelberg, Encounters South African International Documentary Festival (Kapstadt) und das Pan African Film Festival (Los Angeles).

BLOCK 6

Montag, 10. Oktober, 20 Uhr

 

Barataria /

Barataria /

Spain, France / 2021 / Documentary / 49 min
OT Spanish / UT English

Die spanische Retortenstadt Valdeluz ist ein gescheitertes Immobilienprojekt. Unvermittelt und fremd steht sie in der Landschaft, dem lokalen Stoffwechsel vollkommen enthoben, unfertig, fragmentiert und fragwürdig. Dennoch leben Menschen hier, die versuchen, einen ganz normalen Alltag zu meistern. Die grundlegende Struktur unseres modernen Lebens, seine wirtschaftliche und ökologische Ablösung von der Landschaft, wird an diesem Fall überdeutlich und greifbar. Gibt es ein richtiges Leben im falschen?

Julie N. Van Qui

Director: Julie N. Van Qui, Producer: Jean Marie Gigon,
Script: Julie N. Van Qui, DoP: Julie N. Van Qui,
Editor: Rodolphe Molla, Sound: Christelle Granja, Music: Romain Ozanne

Nach einer Karriere in angewandter Kunst und Anthropologie in Frankreich und Spanien bewegt sich Julie Nguyen Van Qui mittlerweile in Richtung Regie und Produktion von Dokumentarfilmen. Seit 2013 wirkt sie bei The Kingdom und später SaNoSi an Filmprojekten mit. „Barataria“ wurde beim Sheffield DocFest 2021 mit dem Preis für den besten Kurzfilm ausgezeichnet.

BLOCK 8

Dienstag, 11. Oktober, 20 Uhr

 

Auf eine Tasse Kaffee mit der Stasi / At the coffe table with the Stasi /

Auf eine Tasse Kaffee mit der Stasi / At the coffe table with the Stasi /

Germany / 2021 / Documentary / 82 min
OT German / UT -

30 Jahre nach der friedlichen Revolution von 1989 gehen Jugendliche aus Frankfurt (Oder) auf Spurensuche. Die Zeitzeugen, die sie heute befragen, standen sich damals feindlich gegenüber. Während sich der eine für die Stasi die Finger wund tippte, berichtet der andere darüber, wie er vor der Telefonzentrale von »Horch und Guck« demonstrierte und das Lied »So ein schöner Tag wie heute« anstimmte. Ein weiterer trank Kaffee mit dem Frankfurter Stasi-Chef, um Akteneinsicht zu verhandeln, während tausend Dokumente vernichtet wurden. Auf ihrem Gang zurück in die Geschichte stellen sich die Jugendlichen die Frage, wie all dies am Ende so friedlich ablaufen konnte. Ein Film über das gelingende Gespräch, über Erinnern und die offene Frage, was man für die heutige Zeit aus diesen Erfahrungen lernen kann.

Johanna Pohland

Director: Johanna Pohland, Producer: Bürgerbühne Kleist Forum,
Script: Gudrun Herrbold & Johanna Pohland, DoP: Johanna Pohland,
Editor: Johanna Pohland, Sound: Johanna Pohland, Music: Divers

Johanna Pohland arbeitet als freie Dokumentarfilmerin, Medienpädagogin und Social Justice Trainerin. Seit 2006 wirkt sie an Theaterfilmproduktionen wie z.B. Michael Thalheimers Inszenierung „Die Ratten“ am Deutschen Theater in Berlin mit. 2010 stellte sie erstmalig im internationalen Kunsthaus Tacheles in Berlin eigene grafische Arbeiten aus. Zur Zeit arbeitet sie an einem Filmprojekt zu den Transformationsprozessen im Stadtteil Neuberesinchen von Frankfurt (Oder) nach der Wendezeit.

BLOCK 9

Mittwoch, 12. Oktober, 18 Uhr

 

Veins of the Amazon /

Veins of the Amazon /

Peru / 2021 / Documentary / 71 min
OT Spanish / UT English

Im Nordosten Perus schlängelt sich der Amazonas über weite Strecken durch den Urwald. Die Dörfer und Städte sind nicht über Straßen erreichbar, der Lufttransport ist teuer. So ist der Amazonas für die meisten Menschen die einzige Verbindung. Mehrstöckige Fähren pendeln zwischen den verschiedenen Siedlungen und Städten. Sie transportieren die Reisenden und ihre Güter und versorgen die abgelegenen, teils alten, teils frisch errichteten Dörfer mit lebensnotwendigen Waren, die unter harten, teils abenteuerlichen, Bedingungen von der Mannschaft verladen werden. Wo immer die Schiffe auftauchen, werden sie sehnsüchtig erwartet. Ein Film über die Abhängigkeit des menschlichen Lebens von Verkehr und Transport, von Lieferungen und menschlicher Kraft.

Álvaro Sarmiento, Terje Toomistu, Diego Sarmiento

Director: Álvaro Sarmiento, Terje Toomistu, Diego Sarmiento, Producer: Álvaro Sarmiento, Diego Sarmiento,
Script: Álvaro Sarmiento, DoP: Terje Toomistu, Diego Sarmiento,
Editor: Fabricio Deza, Álvaro Sarmiento, Diego Sarmiento, Sound: Cesar Centeno, Music: *

Terje Toomistu ist Anthropologin und Dokumentarfilmerin aus Estland und derzeit als Forschungsstipendiatin an der Universität Tartu beschäftigt. Ihr jüngster Film war der preisgekrönte „Soviet Hippies“ (2017). Zur Zeit arbeitet sie an einem neuen Projekt über die junge estnische Diaspora mit Bezug auf akademische Mobilität und digitales Nomadentum. Die Filmemacher und Brüder Alvaro und Diego Sarmiento kommen aus Peru. Ihr Spielfilmdebüt „Green River. The Time of the Yakurunas“ wurde 2017 bei den 67. Berliner Filmfestspielen uraufgeführt. Diego drehte mehrere Kurzfilme, von denen zwei auf der Berlinale gezeigt wurden. Alvaro ist bildender Künstler und Drehbuchautor.

BLOCK 10

Mittwoch, 12. Oktober, 20 Uhr

 

Vida Férrea / Steel Life /

Vida Férrea / Steel Life /

Peru, Spain / 2022 / Documentary / 95 min
OT Spanish / UT English

Hoch in den peruanischen Anden wird Eisenerz gewonnen und per Schiene hinab zu den wartenden Frachtern im Pazifik transportiert. Das Leben in der Höhe ist voller Entbehrungen. So müssen die Arbeiter bis zum 60. Geburtstag die Siedlung in fast 4400 m Höhe wieder verlassen, wenn sie nicht an Blutverdickung sterben wollen. Der von den Waggons freigesetzte und vom Wind verbreitete Staub enthält hohe Bleianteile, die in das Blut der Schwangeren und der Kinder gelangen. Dieser Film zeichnet den Weg des Erzes und die Folgen dieser Aktivitäten eindrücklich nach und gibt verschiedenen Menschen entlang der Strecke Gelegenheit, über sich, ihr Leben und ihre Sicht auf die Dinge zu erzählen.

Manuel Bauer

Director: Manuel Bauer, Producer: Carlos Cárdena / Alejandro Lázaro / Sandra Yépez/ Manuel Bauer,
Script: Manuel Bauer, DoP: José Luis Salomón,
Editor: Clara M. Malagelada / Manuel Bauer, Sound: David Romero/ Ismael Calvo / David Mantecón, Music: None

Manuel Bauer wurde 1974 in Lima, Peru, geboren. 1997 schloss er sein Studium der Kommunikationswissenschaften an der Universität Lima ab. Später gewann er ein Fulbright-Stipendium, um von 1998 bis 2000 ein Masterstudium im Fach Film an der New School University in New York zu absolvieren. Hier studierte er bei Allan Berliner und entdeckte den Dokumentarfilm aus einer neuen Perspektive. Im gleichen Jahr zog er nach Madrid, Spanien, und begann mit der Arbeit an Spiel- und Dokumentarspielfilmen. „Vida Ferrea“ ist sein erster Spielfilm als Regisseur.

BLOCK 11

Donnerstag, 13. Oktober, 18 Uhr

 

Toiveiden koulu / School of Hope / Schule der Hoffnung

Toiveiden koulu / School of Hope / Schule der Hoffnung

Finland, France, Morocco / 2020 / Documentary / 78 min
OT Arabic / UT English

In den unermesslichen Weiten der Wüste östlich des Atlasgebirges in Marokko leben Hirten. Das Leben ist karg und hart. Seit Jahren herrscht Dürre. Viele Familien sind schon abgewandert. Um die Perspektiven für ihre Kinder zu verbessern, haben die verbliebenen Familien eine Schule gebaut. Strom und fließend Wasser gibt es hier nicht. Mit der Ankunft des neuen Lehrers bietet sich für die verbleibenden Kinder die Gelegenheit zum Lernen. Auch wenn sie nach kilometerlangen Schulwegen erschöpft und müde sind, motiviert er sie mit der Hoffnung, sich ein besseres Leben erarbeiten zu können. Die Widerstände sind dennoch groß: Nicht alle Eltern akzeptieren, dass ihnen damit eine billige Arbeitskraft verloren geht. Zudem versiegt die letzte Wasserquelle der Gegend. Über drei Jahre begleitet das Filmteam die Entwicklung der Schüler und Eltern und zeichnet die Hoffnungen und Probleme der von der Dürre in ihrer Existenz bedrohten Menschen nach.

Mohamed El Aboudi

Director: Mohamed El Aboudi, Producer: Pertti Veijalainen/Illume, Lamia Chraibi, La Prod / Hind Saïh, Bellota Films / Dominique Barneaud, Bellota Films / Aimee Link, Vulcan Productions,
Script: Mohamed El Aboudi, DoP: Hannu-Pekka Vitikainen / Marita Hällfors / Päivi Kettunen,
Editor: Lizi Gelber / Florence Bresson / Mohamed El Aboudi / Mikko Sippola, Sound: Pietari Koskinen / Kirsi Korhonen, SoundeFilm, Music: Richard Horowitz & Andrew Silagy

Mohamed El Aboudi wurde 1961 in Marokko geboren und schloss sein Studium an der Bond University (Australien) mit einem MA in Film und Fernsehen ab. Derzeit lebt er in Finnland, wo er 2006 von der finnischen Rundfunkgesellschaft YLE mit einem Preis als bester und erfahrenster Dokumentarfilmregisseur ausgezeichnet wurde. Sein langer Dokumentarfilm „Dance of Outlaws“ hatte Weltpremiere beim Internationalen Filmfestival von Locarno, wo er den Preis Premio Zonta Club Locarno erhielt, dem mehrere weitere Preise folgen sollten. Außerdem hat er bei mehr als 30 kurzen TV-Dokumentationen Regie geführt.

BLOCK 14

Freitag, 14. Oktober, 20 Uhr

 

La Conquista de las Ruinas / Conquest of the ruins / Die Eroberung der Ruinen

La Conquista de las Ruinas / Conquest of the ruins / Die Eroberung der Ruinen

Argentina, Bolivia / 2020 / Documentary / 88 min
OT Spanish / UT English

Das rasante Wachstum der neuen Großstädte kommt einer Vernichtung des Bodens gleich. Mit seiner Versieglung verschwinden auch die Spuren und Reste vergangener Epochen. Aber für viele Menschen bedeuten diese Baustellen ein lebenswichtiges Einkommen. Der Film begleitet Arbeiter in Capinota (Bolivien) und bietet verschiedene Perspektiven auf die Dynamik der Urbanisierung. Eine Meditation über den Beton in der Erdgeschichte, Bergbau, Gated Communities, Archäologie und Paläontologie, die Vernichtung von erdgebundenem Wissen und den menschlichen Erwartungshorizont im kleinen individuellen Leben.

Eduardo Gómez

Director: Eduardo Gómez, Producer: Pensilvania Films, Rodante Films,
Script: Eduardo Gómez, DoP: Eduardo Gómez,
Editor: Damián Tetelbaum, Sound: Joaquín Rajadel, Music: Nicolás Deluca

Eduardo Gómez, geboren 1986, ist ein bolivianischer Produzent und Drehbuchautor. Bis 2007 studierte er Filmregie in La Fábrica, Escuela Internacional de Cine. Weiterhin hat er ein Studium in Sozialer Kommunikation absolviert. 2014 war er Co-Autor und Produzent des Dokumentarfilms „Quinuera“ von Ariel Soto. „La Conquista de las Ruinas“ ist sein erster Dokumentarfilm.