PROVINZIALE, the Film Festival Eberswalde, will be held for the 16th time in 2019. From now on up to May 1st, we invite film makers from all over the world to send their productions to us as entries.

Click here for online – submission.

Click here for our regularies.

We are expecting films that fit into the frame of the Provinziale programme: territorial reference, management of resources, arriving, leaving, staying on and creating – landscape, region or place becoming visible as major players in human lives. Our competitions are characterized by manifests that can be viewed online.

Based on the entries, a twelve-person Programme Advisory Board organizes the films for the following four international competitions:

Short documentary (up to 45 minutes): The films should have a clear thematic reference to the Provinziale programme. About eight films will be selected for the competition. A prize of € 1.000 will be awarded by the audience.

Long documentary (more than 45 minutes: The films cannot be entered directly but are invited for viewing by our Programme Advisory Board. Up to April 1st, applications can be made by email to doc.submission@provinziale.de. The Jury Award for the best overall cinematic achievement of about eight to nine competitors is endowed with € 4.000, donated by the Ministry of Economy and Energy of the Land of Brandenburg. There will also be an Audience Award endowed with € 1.000, donated by the Mayor of Eberswalde.

Short feature film (up to 30 minutes): For selecting the films, emphasis will be placed on the territorial reference of the stories developed in them. About 14 films will be selected for the competition. A Jury Award for the best overall cinematic achievement is endowed with € 2.000. There will also be an Audience Award, the amount of € 1.000 will be donated by the Barnim Savings Bank.

Animation (max. 20 minutes): There will be no thematic restrictions for animation films, but we ask the applicants to pay attention to the programmatic statements in the Manifest of the Programme Advisory Board (“skin and stone”). There will be an Audience Award for one of the eight to ten films selected, which is endowed with € 1.000.

In addition, the Programme Advisory Board will nominate some films from all four competitions for the special award “The Sting”. This is awarded for the best cinematic challenge to the problem of sustainability. The prize money is donated by the College for Sustainable Development in Eberswalde.

A film award from Provinziale carries the name “the e”. All the awards will be handed over at the festive award presentation on October 19th, 2019, at 20:00 hours.

Die Provinziale, das Eberswalder Filmfest, wird 2019 zum 16. Mal ausgerichtet. Ab sofort und bis zum 1. Mai 2019 laden wir Filmemacher aus aller Welt ein, ihre Produktionen bei uns einzureichen.

Hier geht es zur Online-Anmeldung.

Hier sind unsere Teilnahmebedingungen.

Gesucht werden Filme, die auf die Programmatik der Provinziale reagieren: Raumbezug, Ressourcenbewirtschaftung, Kommen, Gehen, Bleiben und Gestalten – Landschaft, Region oder Ort, werden als Mitspieler des menschlichen Lebens sichtbar. Unsere Wettbewerbe sind durch Manifeste charakterisiert, welche online eingesehen werden können.

 

Ein zwölfköpfiger Programmbeirat, stellt auf der Basis der Einreichungen, Filme für die folgenden vier internationalen Wettbewerbe zusammen:

Kurzer Dokumentarfilm (bis 45 min): Die Filme sollten einen klaren programmatischen Bezug zum Thema der Provinziale haben. Ca. acht Filme werden für den Wettbewerb ausgewählt. Zu vergeben ist ein Publikumspreis, der mit 1000 € dotiert ist.

Langer Dokumentarfilm (ab 45 min): Die Filme werden durch unseren Programmbeirat zur Sichtung eingeladen, können also nicht direkt angemeldet werden. Initiativbewerbungen sind per Email bis zum 1. April an doc.submission@provinziale.de möglich. Der Jurypreis für die beste filmische Gesamtleistung ist mit 4.000 Euro dotiert und wird unter acht bis neun Wettbewerbsfilmen vom Ministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie des Landes Brandenburg gestiftet. Zudem wird ein Publikumspreis vergeben, der mit 1.000 Euro dotiert ist, die vom Bürgermeister der Stadt Eberswalde gestiftet werden.

Kurzspielfilm (bis 30 min): Bei der Filmauswahl wird Wert auf einen Raumbezug der entwickelten Geschichten gelegt. Ca. 14 Filme werden für den Wettbewerb ausgewählt. Ein Jurypreis für die beste filmische Gesamtleistung ist mit 2.000 Euro dotiert. Zudem wird ein Publikumspreis vergeben, das Preisgeld von 1.000 Euro wird von der Sparkasse Barnim gestiftet.

Animation (max. 20 min): Für die Animationsfilme wird keine thematische Einschränkung vorgegeben, wir bitten aber um Beachtung der programmatischen Aussagen im Manifest des Programmbeirats („weiche Schale – harter Kern“). Unter 8-10 Filmen wird ein Publikumspreis vergeben, der mit 1000 € dotiert ist.

Alle Einsendungen dürfen nicht älter als 2 Jahre sein (2017 – 2019) und die Filmeinreichung ist  gebührenfrei.

Aus den Wettbewerbsbeiträgen aller vier Kategorien nominiert der Programmbeirat zudem einzelne Filme für den Sonderpreis „DER STACHEL“. Dieser wird für die beste filmische Auseinandersetzung mit dem Nachhaltigkeitsproblem vergeben. Das Preisgeld wird von der Hochschule für nachhaltige Entwicklung Eberswalde gestiftet.

Ein Filmpreis bei der Provinziale trägt den Namen „das e“. Alle Preise werden bei einer feierlichen Preisverleihung am 19. Oktober 2019 um 20 Uhr vergeben.